It is all about the journey….

How Many Times?

file000736595776-1There is a song by the artist Plumb called “Need You Now”. It is a soul touching song for me. This morning I woke up to it streaming through my mind. When this happens I know it is time to write. This song has been a solace of comfort to me during some recent times of trials. I have sung this song in my truck at the top of my lungs with tears streaming down my face. Today it represents a long night.

At 2:00 in the morning I hear a tearful cry for me. 2:00 is one of those times when there shouldn’t be tears. I find my sweet girl curled up in her bed sobbing because her legs are hurting her. She is an outdoor enthusiast, so with the beautiful weather comes hours of playing, climbing, running, jumping…all things that bring pain to knees and ankles at 2:00 in the morning (not to mention a growth spurt). With bleary eyes I tried to cuddle her and comfort her to a place of relaxation so she could sleep through it. It didn’t work.

I stumbled through the house looking for the tylenol. After I had found it, given it to her and got her snuggled with me in my bed, she was still in so much pain. I don’t think there is anything that hurts a mom more than to see her babies in pain and not be able to do anything about it, or so I thought. I am grateful that the Spirit can talk to me, even when my brain is quite fuzzy. In that quiet moment, I was reminded of all the prayers I have offered and He has answered. I asked my sweet girl if she wanted me to say a prayer for her. I love her faith…”Please Mom.”

I love the ways Heavenly Father works. I love the way it happens when combined with the faith of a child. It was as simple as that. I asked for comfort and even though the pain had not completely subsided, the comfort was more than enough to calm her heart and allow her to rest comfortably for the rest of the night. It is beautiful to watch her sleep.

I remember one particular day not to long ago when I was driving my truck and listening to “Need You Now”. I was thinking of all of the times I had cried out to my Heavenly Father in prayer. Times when I just needed strength to breathe or lift my foot just one more time. The song asks the question, “How many times have you heard me cry out God please take this?” As I pondered this a thought came, at first very quietly, then so overpowering it took my breath away. It was simple…”Every time you have cried out there has been an answer. Every time.” I felt so blessed to have that sweet reminder that every time we cry out to Him he will be there and answer.

I have learned that the answers are rarely what I feel they should be. I am so very thankful for that, because His answers are always right. His answers are always what is best for me and those I pray for. Sometimes He takes the pain and discomfort. More often than not, He gives you the strength to work through the trial, knowing that on the other side of it you will be stronger and have something more than you could ever dream. It is simply beautiful how He works. I love Him.

So watching my sweet girl sleep this morning, with this song running through my mind, I was reminded once again…Every Time.

Here is the song….http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ylnx0NA9X4

Comments on: "How Many Times?" (2)

  1. Superb post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte
    more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it!

    • I am sorry I haven’t responded to your comment earlier. I appreciate you visiting my blog and I would love to write more about this subject. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

