It is all about the journey….

Balance and Power

Working out is one of the most instructive times of my day. This morning was no different. I love the quiet moments when I am sweating up a storm figuring out how my body actually works. Well, sometimes it doesn’t do as well as others, but I do my best anyway.

file0001548078191Today I did a P90X2 Core workout. I love to strengthen my core, because it is the base for everything else I do. Without a strong core, karate would be nigh impossible, jumping would be useless and running would be a no go. So I tend to focus on my core a lot. Part of a good core strengthening is balance work. Tony Horton asks the question, “Why is this in here? Because it’s hard!” I love that, because it IS hard to find balance when the rest of your body is moving in all different directions. Doing hard things is what makes us better.

Balance this morning was not my forte at all. I was flopping everywhere looking as ungraceful as possible. It made me a little frustrated, okay a lot frustrated. I decided to do a system check to see if I could find the cause of this lack of grace. After a few moments, I locked on to a part of my body that has been giving me some issues for the past month. It is incredible to think that a minor hip rotation could cause so many issues throughout the entire system. Gah!

Like everything in life, there is a lesson to learn with this. I have found that when there is something a little bit off with my spirit, the balance in my life is completely askew. If I neglect talking to my Heavenly Father for even one night, miss a day studying the scriptures, slack off in my kindness to others (the list could go on, but I don’t want to bore you with that) the rest of my self suffers. It is amazing that spiritual imbalance can affect my physical abilities, it is true.

As I work through this little hip rotation issue, I find that my balance in working out is restored. It is the same with the other things in life that I need to do a balance check on. Re-engaging myself to my Heavenly Father, opening the scriptures and restoring all other aspects brings back the power of balance in my life. Everything just seems to go better when I have my spiritual side healthy and in check. I love that Jesus Christ came and through the Atonement gave me the ability to work, repent and change what I need to in order to have that power. He loves me even when I stumble. He thinks I am beautiful even when I flop around. He knows I can be everything I need to be, even if I don’t. I love Him. I am blessed to have Him in my life.

Balance is power.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

