It is all about the journey….

Breaking Limitations

FlowerThis is something that has been in the front of my mind for a very long time. Thankfully I learn more about it each day. It is a sad reality when I find that the limitations I feel in my life are ones that I have put there on my own.

I read this quote by Darren Hardy this morning and it reached into my heart… “To play small is to sin against your nature. You were designed for greatness.”

It is so true that we are designed for greatness. We are all unique and blessed with our own set of talents and gifts. Each set comes with unique abilities in order for us to reach our fullest potentials. The part that stuck out to me the most is that it is a sin against our nature to play small. We can never be elevated if we are not willing to reach higher.

When my husband and I were looking at homes to move to, we set our search limits to places we felt we could afford and be okay. Fortunately for us, Heavenly Father had a greater design and wanted us to stretch ourselves. One day I decided to take all of the limitations off of my search and expand the area we were looking in. What I found was a beautiful home that we had no idea how to get there. After seeing it for the first time, we simply knew that home was where we needed to be. My wise husband said, “I don’t know how we will get here, but hopefully Heavenly Father will elevate us so that we can do what He needs us to do.”

We have been in this home for just over a month and every day is another witness of ‘life elevated’. I cannot put into words the peace that has come with knowing our children are safe, have good friends and are in a place they can thrive. We see it every day. We are lifting ourselves to become better than what we were yesterday (which is the only way to go). We are seeking to be who He needs us to be.

Had I not decided to take my limitations off of the search, we would have never been in the position to be elevated. This is something that I need to do on a daily basis. I need to take the limitations I think are keeping me safe, throw them away and move forward to discover who I am meant to be. Limitations disguise themselves as a ‘safety net’ that would keep us from getting hurt. The truth is, they are there to hurt us, because they hold us back from becoming, learning and experiencing life. It is difficult to feel anything when your heart is limited.

So today and every day I try something new. My sister-in-law shared this with me and I have watched her overcome some pretty amazing obstacles, because she chooses to live each day. I am close to a new decade that some would consider old (40) and I have done some things that have helped me see that it is only a number. I am learning to do backhand springs, crazy karate kicks, rock climbing, cooking new things, discovering new trails to go down…

All of this has brought great happiness to me (with some pain that comes from learning curve), because I am breaking the barriers of limitations on my heart. I feel more alive now than I have ever felt. I feel closer to my Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ, because I am working on becoming who They know I am meant to be. It is not the easy path, but it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

