It is all about the journey….

Healing

file0001628333441On Friday my son and I went to our karate class. I love our studio, because it doesn’t matter how old you are, you can do anything. So here I am, close to 40 years old, hanging out with a bunch of young kids learning how to do B-twists and back handsprings. It is totally a blast.

After one back handspring (I kept forgetting to bring my legs over, so I get a really nice stretch), I landed and jumped (it was exciting that I remembered my legs this time). As I came down I rolled my ankle out pretty good. Instant pain shot up my leg and I almost forgot how to walk. Wow. I haven’t done something this special since I played soccer in college. There was an instant ballooning and beautiful coloring of the ankle.

I am thankful for shock. That may sound a bit interesting, however shock allowed me to keep myself together for the rest of the class while my son was training, walk-ish out to my truck and drive us home. Once it wore off, well, that is another story for another day. I felt truly blessed that we were able to get home. My son is a champ. He took great care of me making sure I could reach the truck. As soon as I was able to, I began to pray….I needed His help.

So here it is, I have a beautiful purple, blue, green and brown ankle…on both sides. I am proud to say that I did a great job with this one. However, the truth of it is…I hate being injured. It is such an inconvenience in life. I love to be moving and doing things with my family. It is humbling to be down, if even for a few days.

This has given me some time to think about the power of healing. It is incredible how our body instantly begins to heal when it is injured. It does its best to take care of the trauma that has occurred, be it an ankle sprain, a small cut, bruise or anything else. Sometimes it just can’t take care of itself and needs outside help.

I am thankful for training in Physical Therapy. I haven’t practiced for over 8 years, however I get to use my skills almost daily with an athletic husband, 2 active kids and all that happens on a daily basis. One of the things that has stuck with me from my training is the way we heal when given the best environment to do so. I have been amazed at the progress the ankle has made as I have done my best to provide it with the best scenario to heal. The rest, ice, compression, elevation, early mobility and ibuprofen have been key in helping me regain what was lost in a split second. I still need to be cautious, it has only been 3 days, however I believe moving forward is the best way to heal.

It is the same with our spirits. When we have found ourselves injured it is so important that we provide our spirits with the best possible environment to heal. We need to find what is causing the pain, so that we can deal with it. Taking our hurts to the Savior brings so much immediate healing. As we call upon Him for help, his healing power washes over us. I have found that the wound may not instantly close. Yet, we are given the power to have peace, strength and guidance to move forward. He is the master of healing.

Sometimes it takes something like an ankle sprain to help me remember the great power of healing….physically and spiritually.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

