It is all about the journey….

Promised Land

dlo 195kkkkThis is one of those times when I have learned something at a deep level that when I try to share it may not come out as profound. If you will indulge me I hope to impart what I have felt over the past two days.

Yesterday in our Sacrament meeting our very inspired Bishop spoke on a talk that was given by Elder Jeffrey R. Holland in 2009. The talk is entitled Remember Lot’s Wife. It is an amazing talk that opened my heart and eyes to so many aspects of faith and forgiveness. Our Bishop spoke about the forgiveness aspect of the talk. It was well timed, as I have so often held onto different things that have held me back, because I have not allowed forgiveness to heal my hurts.

The other aspect of the talk. like I mentioned, is faith. In this talk, Elder Holland defines faith in such a way that changed the way I look at that power forever.

“Faith is for the future. Faith builds on the past but never longs to stay there. Faith trusts that God has great things in store for each of us and that Christ truly is the ‘high priest of good things to come’.”

This spoke to my soul as truth with so much power it removed all of the stones that had been trying to form around my heart. I have been struggling so much with my faith in the future that I could not see that Heavenly Father is in control and all of His promises would be fulfilled…IF I have the faith to bring them to pass. I could not see that there are indeed amazing things to come for us. I was stuck on the past/present.

Tonight as I read about Nephi I was struck at how this principle allowed him strength to move forward, even in the most difficult of times. 1 Nephi 17 is the chapter I studied tonight. As I read with this definition of faith at the forefront of my mind, I could see how Nephi moved forward. Once he learned that their family was leaving Jerusalem, for a promised land, he never looked back. Everything he did was moving toward that goal.

It must have been an overwhelming task to follow the commandment of Heavenly Father to build a boat, no less daunting than killing Laban I am sure. And yet, rather than say, “Umm I have never done this before. Are you sure?” He asked where he could go to get the tools that he required to do what he was asked. Looking forward.

His brothers, on the other hand, had never truly left Jerusalem. Their hearts were constantly turning back to their lands, life of luxury and possessions. This is why they never had enough faith to sustain them in the difficult times. They never allowed their faith to trust that God had amazing things in store for them. They could never see His hand, because they were always looking back. I have to wonder if Nephi would have welcomed a pillar of salt moment….

It is the same with the children of Israel. Those who came out of Egypt never looked to the Promised Land. They were constantly asking why they had to leave their food and life in Egypt. They felt that a lifetime of slavery was better than the blessings they had in store for them. On the other hand, Moses constantly looked to the Promised Land and was sustained in his desires to do the work of the Lord.

As I have worked on letting go of past/present today, I have been astonished at how Heavenly Father sustains even a little tiny effort. I welcome the blessings He, and only He can give. I marvel at His prefect timing and love for one like me. I am grateful for His Son who came to heal my wounds and lift me when I am down. I love them both so much.

 

Comments on: "Promised Land" (2)

  1. Your means of describing the whole thing in this piece of writing is genuinely good, all be able to simply be aware
    of it, Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

