It is all about the journey….

Trust Yourself

2013-03-01 19.43.31A few weeks ago I was training at karate. It was tournament preparation time, which means we perform our katas for our classmates over and over so that we get the feel for tournament style performance. It is amazing how even when you are standing up in front of your peers, it is easy to have a memory lapse.

I was in the process of performing one of my all time favorite katas. It is a beautiful kata with amazing movements. I had one of those wonderful memory lapses. Off to the side of the mat I hear, “Trust yourself.” The voice was Te’s, one of our amazing instructors encouraging me to allow myself to do what I know.

Those two words were incredible. They unlocked my memory and my body was able to do what it knew. Sometimes the most simple words unlock the most powerful reactions within us.

I have thought about ‘trust yourself’ often since that night. On many occasions when one of our little family members has been stuck, I have said them. The power they hold is incredible. Once these words are uttered, it takes no more than a few seconds for everything to move forward once again.

As we go about our days, becoming our best, there are times when we have little moments of weakness or memory lapses. Mortality has with it these times of growth. Rather than getting down on ourselves, we should utter these simple words…’trust yourself’. Deep down within our spirits we know who we are, we know what we can do, we know where we want to go and we remember.

Heavenly Father trusts us. He showed us that trust when He gave us the choice to come here for this mortal experience. The key is to allow that trust to grow within ourselves. We will find new strength in the most simplest of tasks. We will draw closer to Him.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

