It is all about the journey….

Finding Strength

Today I am staring down the barrel of two projects that need to be done. I am not quite sure how to start either one of them…file000147507546

As I wait for the creative lightning to strike, I try to sort through the thoughts running around in my mind. One of the projects is centered around developing a talk about the Doctrine of Jesus Christ. The other is a paper about finding strength. I feel as though I have a vortex in my mind mixing the two up and creating little hybrids.

I have always loved developing talks. It is in the research that I have found some of the greatest insights. I have learned so much about Jesus Christ this past week. He is the foundation of all that we do and how we live. He is the one I rely on most for strength.

It is incredible how when we feel like we need the most strength, it seems as though it has left. When I have faced something that has brought me to my knees, I was made to feel weak. This week I learned that I was wrong to feel that way.

Strength is not doing everything by yourself. Strength is not pushing away those who would help so you can stand alone. Strength has nothing to do with solitude.

As I have studied the gospel of Jesus Christ I noticed that His strength came from reaching out to His Father in prayer. The strength He offered those who sought Him was given with an outstretched hand.

One of my favorite stories in the Bible  is when the Savior was walking on the water towards the ship that carried his disciples. Of course seeing a man walking on water caused fear in their hearts, until He spoke to them saying, “Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.”

Peter took the comfort he was offered and found the courage and strength to ask if he could walk on water too. “Come,” was the reply. Peter left the safety of the ship and began to walk towards the Savior. However as he took his eyes off of the one source of strength he had, he saw the wind and the waves. Fear overtook his heart and he began to sink. Desperate, he cried out saying, “Lord, save me.”

What happens next has always brought comfort to my soul as I have cried out to my Savior in times of desperation.

“And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?”

Immediately He caught him. Immediately He catches us and gives us the strength to move forward.

I have found more strength reaching out to Him this week than I have ever found before. I believe it is because I learned that when I seek for help I know I am going to find what I need.

I am stronger when I hold His hand. I am stronger when I seek His face. I am stronger, because I know He will always be there for me.

Comments on: "Finding Strength" (1)

  1. … [Trackback]

    […] Informations on that Topic: ownwhoyouare.wordpress.com/2013/07/13/finding-strength/ […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

