It is all about the journey….

My Mountain

A little over a year ago my husband and I were in moving talks….for the 30th time. Not really, however we had been talking about moving for 6 years. We had sold our house 3 times, however each time941586_10201018331596555_1866558230_n we did, we felt we needed to stay. It was a rough, but rewarding 6 years.

I remember one evening we decided we were going to let go of moving and stay where we were. As we had been thinking, trying and talking about moving for so long, it was difficult to let it go, however at the same time I was relieved. I finally rested and found peace where I was.

A few days later I spent some time in the Bountiful Temple. This temple is located on a mountain with a breathtaking view. I love it up there for so many reasons. As I was driving home, my mind was wandering in so many different directions. Out of the blue I had the strongest feeling that we would be moving and I saw in my mind a mountain. My mountain.

This thought rocked our world. We had finally found peace in staying where we were and it threw everything out of balance….once again.

I am ever so grateful for a kind Heavenly Father. He gives us what we need, when we need it. The image of my mountain gave us a vague idea of where to search. We truly wanted to go where He would have us be, to do the most good for Him. Knowing we needed to be close to a mountain was more than enough to go on.

I will never forget the day we found our home. A few days before we had been searching online for available houses in a certain area. We had looked for a couple of months in this area (near a mountain), however nothing felt right. I decided to look in a different city with no limitations. One house came up. On paper there was no way we could afford this home, however we decided to see it.

Turning up the street to find the home, my heart almost leapt out of my chest. Right there in front of me was my mountain. The mountain I had seen almost daily in my mind for over a year. Nothing else mattered at that moment. I was home.

Pulling myself together, I wanted to make a good impression on the owner, we arrived at the house. I was in awe, because I had found my mountain and a home where I could live for a very long time.

Now that we are here, a miracle in and of itself, my mountain has become the place where my family goes to bond, play, and realize the blessings we have. Each time we are there at least one of us exclaims, “Wow…we live here!”

I love my mountain, because it was my beacon. I love my mountain, because it is home.

Comments on: "My Mountain" (1)

  1. … [Trackback]

    […] Read More: ownwhoyouare.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/my-mountain/ […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

