It is all about the journey….

Promised Land

A few months ago I wrote about our Purposeful Wanderings and what we had learned in the process of finding our Promised Land. For whatever reason I thought we had learned ‘enough’ forDSCN1076 that time. I am sure Heavenly Father had a good chuckle with that one, knowing what was to come. I am thankful He has a wonderful sense of humor.

Once we stepped into our Promised Land, we have continued to learn through trial, fire, faith, struggles and pure determination. It has been one of the most refining experiences we have ever gone through.

I have continued in my studies of the Children of Israel. I had put aside our likenesses and simply read the words. Today I was taught once again that the scriptures are there to teach us, help us and guide us through our lives. I finally saw what He needed me to see in order for me to hang on for a little bit longer.

As they entered the promised land, each tribe was commanded to destroy those that were there, so that they could establish themselves. They needed to eradicate anything that was contrary to the God of Israel. They did not cross the River Jordan and lay out their houses and find all well. It took time, work, blood, sweat and tears.

Pondering all that we have gone through after moving in, I was shown the similarities. As much as I thought the work was done, it had only begun. I am grateful that we had within us a deep desire to leave our wilderness and come to our Promised Land. I don’t think we would have had the strength or faith to endure without it.

We have had to fight with every ounce of faith to stay here. We have used the weapons He has trained us in…prayer, scriptures, family time and pure faith to keep going. We have spent more time on our knees pleading for His guidance than any other time in our lives. We have had to remember that He opened the path for us to come here and it is He that led us here.

There are many times when it seemed like an easy thing to give up. I have found that this is not an option, no matter how broken, exhausted and alone I feel. These are the days when I have to dig deeper and find within me the strength that only He can give.

I have learned that I am stronger than I thought I ever could be. I have learned that my husband is my best friend and greatest strength. I have learned that there is nothing more important to me than the safety, strength and closeness of my family. I have learned that even if I don’t think He is there, He is.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

