It is all about the journey….

Storms

A particular verse of scripture took on a whole new meaning for me today. As always I am taught when I am talking to my wonderful kids…in the truck. file000575426669

In the Book of Mormon I have found some of the most honest counsel of facing trials in this life. The applications have the ability to take upon them deeper levels as we experience life. The book of Helaman has one such verse that I have looked to for strength at many points in my life. Today I learned and saw a deeper level of this.

In this particular chapter and verse, Helaman is teaching his sons Nephi and Lehi the importance of their names. He is teaching them how to live. He is teaching them who to look to for strength and deliverance. He was a great parent, who did not sugar-coat what was to come in the lives of his sons. He simply prepared and strengthened them to be ready.

“And now, my sons, remember, remember that it is upon the rock of our Redeemer, who is Christ, the Son of God, that ye must build your foundation; that when the devil shall send forth his mighty winds, yea, his shafts in the whirlwind, yea, when all his hail and his mighty storm shall beat upon you, it shall have no power over you to drag you down to the gulf of misery and endless wo, because of the rock upon which ye are built, which is a sure foundation, a foundation whereon if men build they cannot fall. (Helaman 5:12)

I always focused on the end of the verse… part that tells us we will not fall if we are built our spirits upon the rock of our Redeemer. It was in that particular part of the verse that gave me what I needed.

As we have struggled and grown over this past year. I have gained a new appreciation for the shafts and mighty storms that only the devil can send. There have been moments it feels like the gates of hell have opened right before us and vomited all over us. Not a pleasant visual, however a reality nonetheless. All of this to make us stronger if we look at it with the right perspective.

As i was talking to the kids about bad days, why we have them and so forth, I thought about this scripture and the storms it speaks of. Often times in my heart I would that these storms would come, but not affect me because I have chosen to follow my Savior Jesus Christ. That does not allow me to strengthen my foundation, however it sounds good sometimes.

I visualized myself standing on a rock, the rock I had built my foundation on. All of the sudden a storm, like no other, gathers around me. The winds begin to howl, a whirlwind forms and moves closer, it brings with it pelting hail and driving rain. And there I stand, right in the middle of it. The beating the storm brings is painful. It hurts my skin, burns my eyes and does its best to whip me around. As much as I sway, my foundation does not move.

The realization of the pain that is involved with staying on this foundation comforted me. I had begun to think that all of the times I didn’t feel strong, when I broke and was driven to my knees because I didn’t know where else to go, were moments of weakness and that my foundation was cracking. I saw that I am only getting stronger the longer I stand my ground in this particular storm.

Truth be told, I am looking forward to the calm that can only come after a storm. I am excited to find the peace that says, “Well done, you made it.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

