It is all about the journey….

Because I Can

It is good for us to re-examine our ‘whys’ from time to time. Last week I took a recovery week. This is not something I would naturally do, however my body told me otherwise.072013165225

We have been training in karate for the belt we just received. It required of us to do 75 squats, 25 push-ups, 25 v-ups and 25 shoulder-bridge-reaches along with all of the katas, self-defense techniques, weapons forms, sparring, power karate and explosive kicks. It was 2 of the most intense hours I have spent. It was purely amazing!

With all of that training, I have also been keeping up with my other workouts. My family will tell you it is vital that I workout, or I am not the best mom, wife, daughter, sister, or friend. It is part of me and I like it there. However, after all of this training, I needed to let myself rest, heal and recover.

Today I thought about my workout ‘why’. I thought about how it has changed with my life. I remember when I came home from my mission, I had gained a lot of weight. My ‘why’ was losing that before my soon-to-be husband returned home from his mission. That why got me completely addicted to working out. After having each one of my kids, my ‘why’ was returning to my pre-baby healthy self, so that I could keep up with them.

Now my ‘why’ is the best one I have ever had. It has come at a time in my life why I have struggled with overcoming many demons and trials.  My ‘why’ is simply, Because I Can.

I have found so much strength physically, mentally and spiritually pushing my body to its limits. Reaching a point in my life where I feel like I deserve to be strong has been quite liberating. There have been so many days when I have felt so selfish taking an hour and working out. It is very selfish, and I am good with that. You see, I need to take time to take care of me so that I can take care of my family and those who need me. There are things that I need to do to stay strong on every level, so that I have what is needed. Working out to the limit is one of those things.

Because I can, I will

  1. push myself to see how strong I am.
  2. do things I don’t really want to, because I know I will be stronger.
  3. find strength that I never knew existed.
  4. motivate those around me to be healthy and happy.
  5. learn more about myself and who I truly am.
  6. find pure exhilaration when I am completely sweaty, stinky and spent.
  7. celebrate when I have overcome.
  8. get up when I don’t want to.
  9. see that I am worth every ounce of pain and moment of learning.
  10. realize that I am amazing.
  11. understand that everything I succeed at allows me to do it again and again.

This is a gift I have been given today….my WHY.

 

 

Comments on: "Because I Can" (2)

  1. I’m really enjoying getting to know you a bit better through your blog. Thanks for helping me want to be better than I was yesterday.

    • Thank you for your comment! I am glad you are enjoying my blog and it is helping you. As much as it helps me to write, I always hope deep in my heart that what I have to say will help someone somewhere.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

