It is all about the journey….

I Can Do Hard Things

I have been in an Insanity workout mode for the past couple of weeks. This is one of the most difficult workout series I have ever done. I started it 3 years ago and I have done it ever since. I DSCN1514have added in karate and P90X2 along the way to keep it mixed up. Yet for cardio and simply leaving everything I have on the floor…this wins hands down.

Today I decided I needed to bring up the intensity level so I did the Max CardioConditioning workout. It is 45 minutes of hard endurance training. It was 45 minutes of life learning for me today.

What I learned today as I left a good puddle of sweat on the floor (life lessons are in italics):

  1. I can do hard things! This is something I know, however I needed to be reminded today that I am strong.
  2. Sometimes I need a little mid-set mini break. It is okay to take a moment to catch your breath so that you can move forward.
  3. Counting down helps me finish strong. Knowing that I have already done more than half of a set gives me the mental strength the push through the second half.
  4. It is okay if my form is not perfect. This is part of the learning journey…we need to go through the sucking phase in order to train ourselves to get it right.
  5. An open mind is essential to success. If I decided that I can do something than I am right….if I think it is impossible, I am right again.
  6. It will always be hard. No matter how many times I have done this workout; it ALWAYS kicks my butt. Life is like that too….some things will always kick our butts, but embracing what they give us will help us move forward.
  7. Endurance means it is not going to be over quickly. Life is all about endurance….living well day after day after day.
  8. The cool down is a beautiful thing. Taking a moment to relax my mind and body while stretching allows me to celebrate the fact that I just DID THAT!

Working out has been one of the best life instructors I have ever had. I love the moments when I think I have given it my all and then from somewhere deep within, I find a little bit more. I embrace the times when I accomplish one or two more reps on a certain exercise than I did last time, because I feel stronger.

I really have learned that life is meant to be difficult. The only time we truly gain strength and grow is when we are pushing against something stronger than we are. The times we see how far we have come is during our ‘cool down’ moments if you will, when we are stretching and catching our breath. The key to navigating this life is to embrace the difficulties, find our moments of triumph and growth, try new things that seem impossible and live with faith that we are being helped by One who knows us best.

Comments on: "I Can Do Hard Things" (2)

  1. “The key to navigating this life is to embrace the difficulties, find our moments of triumph and growth, try new things that seem impossible and live with faith that we are being helped by One who knows us best.”
    >>>

    This is so true. As a Believer, I find strength and hope even on days when I feel like I just can’t go on. (Philippians 4:13) Take care now 🙂

    • Thank you for your amazing comment!!! I am grateful for people like you who know where to turn for the ultimate strength! Continue on and take care!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

