It is all about the journey….

Someday

DSCN1527I woke up to this song playing in my mind… Someday by Disciple. It has been there off and on for a few weeks now. I have found a lot of solace and strength in the words of this song.

As I work through moments of uncertainty I see that this is all a temporary state in our lives. It is a time for learning, growing and showing what I am made of. I have moments when I feel like I am made of weaker materials. And at a certain level this is true. However, at the core, I have strength my body will never understand in this life.

I love the line in the song that says, “Someday we will rise above the pain of this world.” The word ‘rise’ is powerful in my heart. It shows me  that I am on a journey that will always require me to lift myself up to become better. As I listen to this song I imagine myself holding onto a rope, pulling myself up out of a sea of hands that would bring me down at the first possible chance. As i pull on this rope of salvation with everything I have, I am looking up.

There are times when my hands are burning, my arms have no more strength to give and I feel the downward pull. The voices of those who would pull me down become louder and I feel my heart beginning to believe the lies they are telling me…lies of weakness, doubt, selfishness and so forth. As I struggle to maintain my upward gaze, I realize that there are those who are on the other side of the spectrum. Those who would have me climb. They know that it is only in the climb that I will gain the strength I need to arrive. I am grateful for those hands that lift.

Honestly I love the days when the climb is easier. They are days of recovery. Sometimes they come in large numbers, however recently they have been few and far between. Yet, I would not embrace these days if I didn’t have to struggle. I would not be as grateful for the light in my life if I didn’t have to climb out of the darkness. How grateful I am that there is a light to reach for, even if it feels distant.

Rope burns, fatigue and all…it is worth the climb.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

