It is all about the journey….

The Right Prayer

This journey through mortality is an amazing one at best. It is tailor made for each one of us so that we can become who we are meant to be. file000439029567

I have learned and re-learned how my trials are just what I need to bring me closer to Him. They are mine and some days they are all I can handle. I am sure from the outside looking in, my trials may be a walk in the park for others, maybe it is because they have already conquered the mountain I am currently climbing.

At this particular growing season in my life, I have learned so much about my heart, my desires and my strength. I am experiencing something that I never have before…and I have yet to give this a name, because it is so new to me. I know that there have been many blessings promised to us, that deliverance is nigh at hand and that we are doing what we are supposed to be doing. Yet, during the quiet times of day when it seems as though nothing is moving forward my heart seems to melt in uncertainty.

I have offered prayer after prayer. There are times when I have wondered if all it would take for the needed blessings is if I said the right things in my prayers.

I have read accounts of those who have been in times of trial and when they offered prayers of, “Thy will be done, not mine.” deliverance came. And so I followed this example.

There have been those who whose deliverance came when they turned their hearts and prayers away from what they wanted and focused on others.

I have read to go boldly to the Lord and speak to Him with all of my heart, outlining my needs and how I see that they could be resolved…and so I have gone.

Then I see that we should not demand miracles from Him, they will come when our faith is sufficient…and so I return to Him and ask forgiveness for demanding things of Him.

Each time I have gone before Him, I have hoped that this is the right prayer. That this offering will be the one that will be accepted and that which I have prayed for and longed for will come to pass.

My prayers have not gone unheeded. Although the deliverance I have sought for, and continue to seek with all of my heart, has not come, I have learned many things along the way.

The most important thing I have learned, today, is that there is not one right prayer that will bring to pass what we seek after. We simply need to continue to pray. Any prayer we offer in humility and righteousness is the right prayer. He hears them all and answers them in His time and in His way. It is that our vision is so limited we have a difficult time seeing what He has in store for us. These things are far greater than we could ever imagine and will give us more than we can hold.

Those who seek Him will always find Him. 3 Nephi 14:7 and Matthew 7:7 His promises are sure.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

