It is all about the journey….

Answers

file8741295012770A few weeks ago I was driving home from an early morning workout. I had witnessed a very touching scene that caused a lot of reflection on my part.

As I passed through a parking lot I saw an elderly woman walking to her car with a cart full of groceries. Her gait was not smooth and it appeared she was having a bit of difficulty. As I turned around to make sure she was okay, a man pulled up right beside her, hopped out of his car and helped this sweet lady. He was a pure gentleman…giving her his arm, taking her cart and unloading her groceries. It was a beautiful moment.

As I drove home, I thought in my heart, what does it take to be an answer to someone’s prayers?

For this sweet lady, it was a gentleman who was in the right place at the right time with the right heart. I am sure he didn’t wake up that morning and say…I am going to the store to answer someone’s prayers. He may have asked to be led to someone who needed help.

Last night I found an answer to this question. We had the opportunity to visit with some dear friends and share an amazing experience with them. After, as we took in the cool night air and chatted my dear friend pulled me aside. She shared with me what she had been going through for the past year and the decision that she ultimately came to (which was not an easy one). My heart ached for her, because she seemed so lost and alone.

As we chatted she shared with me something that has stuck in her heart for months. I had shared some thoughts, thoughts I didn’t remember sharing, about how to stay close to Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ. She told me that what I had said stayed with her and has helped her during this time. It humbled me to think that something I had shared had helped her for so long.

We continued to talk. I prayed silently for the words to comfort her soul. I shared what came into my heart. The words that came were not mine, they were from a Father who loves his daughter more than she could feel at that time. Again she humbled me by telling me I had been an answer to her prayers. She had been praying for someone to reach out to her and help her up. My heart was full of gratitude that I could help my sister.

Thinking about these experiences, I learned that all it takes to be an answer to someone’s prayers is just to be who we are. We have each been given special talents and abilities that are uniquely ours. As we use them, it becomes natural for us to do what He needs us to do. It is very rare that the Heaven’s part and we are shown with fanfare who to help and how to help. He works ever so quietly to bless our lives.

A scripture that has always held a special place in my heart is Matthew 25:40….”And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

It took on a new, beautiful meaning to me as I witnessed the Savior bless the lives of those around me.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "Answers" (3)

  1. What a beautiful post today Wendy. I loved reading it. 🙂

  2. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

