It is all about the journey….

Learning From Enoch

file5571255360815I know I need to write this post, because of the incredible lesson I learned today. However, the words escape me. As I find them, I will quickly grab onto them and share.

This week I studied the story of Enoch. Here was a man journeying to another land and the Lord appears unto him and tells him to call the people to repentance. A task that would humble any man to be sure. Enoch’s response echos many of ours when called upon to do things we feel are far greater than what we feel we are capable of doing….

“And when Enoch had heard these words, he bowed himself to the earth, before the Lord, and spake before the Lord, saying: Why is it that I have found favor in thy sight, and am but a lad, and all the people hate me; for I am slow of speech; wherefore am I thy servant?” (Moses 6:31)

The Lord made many wonderful promises to Enoch if he would have faith and do as he was asked. I am sure Enoch didn’t know where to begin. His emotions must have gone every direction possible, not knowing what to say or do. Yet, he was given a promise and Enoch chose to believe this promise.

As he went forward, trusting that the Lord knew more than he did, he was able to learn things far greater than he ever imagined. He established a righteous city that, in the end, was taken to heaven. This miracle has not been repeated.

The great lesson I learned from this today (with the help of my amazing husband) was this… Enoch was ‘but a lad’. In the eyes of the world, he felt like he was nothing special. He had weaknesses, he was unpopular and unsure. Yet, the Lord chose him to do a great work. The Lord knew the strength and abilities that Enoch was capable of and gave him the opportunity to become who he was truly meant to be.

How often have I felt like I am nothing special, like my weaknesses are so glaring, like I have nothing to offer….and yet, Heavenly Father kindly shows me the truth.

Within each of us are gifts that He has given us to bless those around us. Sometimes those gifts are not as recognizable as we feel they should be, yet they are there. When we are given the opportunity to do things that are far beyond our capabilities, these gifts come out. We become more than we thought we ever would. In the hands of the Master, we are molded into beautiful works of art.

Just as Enoch did, I need to trust the Lord when He asks me to do something I never would have imagined. It is a great blessing to know that I can call upon Him and He will answer.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

