It is all about the journey….

Out Of Breath

file8851274473595I am sure we have all experienced days when we feel like we are out of breath the entire day. We run and run and can’t seem to catch up on what we are ‘trying’ to accomplish that day.

For the past few weeks I have experienced this more often than not. It is as though there is something or someone sitting on my chest, making breathing as difficult as humanly possible. I get it, but I don’t like it.

With everything that life hands to us to accomplish, grow from and experience it is very understandable that overwhelmed pokes its head into the windows of our souls. This little guest is just there. Sometimes I find myself shutting down when it comes, other times I find myself in sprint mode….working like mad to get everything accomplished, taken care of, folded, cleaned, shopped for, dressed, showered, exercised, listened to, worked through, and maintained.

As I took a quiet moment today, one of a very few I have allowed myself, a scripture from the Book of Mormon came into my mind….

“And see that all these things are done in wisdom and order; for it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength. And again, it is expedient that he should be diligent, that thereby he might win the prize; therefore, all things must be done in order.” (Mosiah 4:27)

It was as though He was telling me that I have been running too fast, not allowing things to be done in the order that He needs them to be.

There are things coming into our lives that will require more of us, all of which will be gladly received. What we will be blessed to give is more than we could ever hope for. Yet, as I have known about them, I have wanted so much to get started and hit the ground running. The more I have attempted this, the more I have felt out of breath, overwhelmed and unable.

On the other hand, as I have stepped back (a few times) and allowed time and the natural order of things to play out, I have received inspiration, peace, energy and everything I need to do what is required.

I realized today that the more I ‘try’ to force the things that Heavenly Father has in store for me and my family the less I am able to see things for how they truly are. I can no more force things of life than I can force the spring to come before it is time. And just as it is with spring, the more I want them does nothing to speed up His timing.

How grateful I am for the words spoken and recorded long ago by inspired men! They have been the source of answers time and time again to the questions that lie deep within my heart.

Today I will run a little slower, take in the beauty of the blue sky painted with fluffy white clouds. I will catch my breath and allow life to unfold. I will develop the strength I need to move forward when the time is right. God is good!

Reblogged from Ownwhoyouare.com.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

