It is all about the journey….

Mercy In Weakness

roseflippedWeakness is something I have fought against for as long as I remember. It has always been the proverbial thorn in my side, no matter how it manifests itself in my life. In all of its forms, weakness has made me feel like I am ‘less than’ and unable to become who I am meant to be.

There is a scripture in the Book of Mormon that talks about our weaknesses and why we have them. As many times as I have read this scripture, it has brought but little comfort to my heart that continually desires strength. The prophet Moroni, one who I am sure felt his fair share of weaknesses as he watched his father, family and people be slaughtered by the enemy, shares this insight:

And if men come unto me (Heavenly Father) I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them. (Ether 12:27)

I my mind I would see that these weaknesses are a gift, however my heart has had a difficult time accepting it. I so desire to be strong and one that can handle anything, yet more often than not I find I am brought to my knees because I have not what it takes at that time to carry the load asked of me.

Feeling ‘less than’ because of these weaknesses has caused me to feel that I am not good enough and too reliant on the Savior and His Atonement. I have felt like I have made many mistakes because I am not strong enough to do or know any better. Today I read something that has given me strength, hope and peace. It is amazing how words can be the balm of a tired heart. Elder Richard G. Scott was speaking of this very thing when he said…

“The joyful news for anyone who desires to be rid of the consequences of past poor choices is that the Lord sees weaknesses differently than He does rebellion. Whereas the Lord warns that unrepented rebellion will bring punishment, when the Lord speaks of weaknesses, it is always with mercy.” (October 2013)

Mercy from the Lord is so beautiful. It is a gift of love from One who understands more than we could ever imagine. For whatever reason I had it in my mind that weakness = sin. It is not so. Weakness = opportunity to grow and become.

Weakness never presents itself in times of peace and calm (at least that is how it is in my world). I see its face when I am fighting to do the right thing, be who I need to be, and grow…in every aspect of life. It is meant to be that way, else we would not call upon Him to guide and strengthen us. That is the true mercy of it all; He will give us what we need, not us doing it on our own.

Reblogged from Own Who You Are….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

