It is all about the journey….

Our Story

Our StoryIt has been just over one year. One year ago our path took a new, faith demanding, exhilarating and beautiful turn. I had no idea what was in store for my heart, just promises from Heavenly Father that He would be there every step of the way.

As I have looked back over the year I have seen moments when there seemed like there was no way out, no answers to be had. There always seemed to be more questions than answers and the hole we were in kept getting deeper and deeper. It never did any good to ask, ‘why?’ because the moment that word slipped into my heart it was accompanied by the darkness of guilt and fear.

There are times in all of our lives when our faith, determination, diligence and hope are tested to the last fiber. This has been our reality. Within these moments come all emotions that we are capable of and more as our hearts seek the deeper understanding of our purpose and the guidance along a dark path.

Each day I have knelt in prayer…asking, thanking, talking, crying and listening. Deep in my heart I knew Heavenly Father has always been there, even when all evidences surrounding us have suggested that He abandoned us. When I have looked, I have found Him in the simplest of ways. Small and simple is how He works.

The words recorded in the scriptures have more often than not been a balm to a heavy heart. Through testimonies born of Jesus Christ, I have seen His hand in my life, the Atonement strengthening me when I had nothing left and His tender love reaching my soul when it felt cold. Jesus has been my strength, light and rock each and every day.

Mostly we have seen countless times when there have been those who have responded to feelings they have had. Grace is given through those who listen to the whispering in their heart and reach out to others. I am a giver, so receiving has been a deep and humbling lesson. These incredible people have shown me time and time again that Heavenly Father is there, because He asked them to help us.

I have learned that within moments of trial and learning, we can have joy. We can laugh. We can find beauty. We can experience adventure that draws us closer to each other. My family is my life and joy. I know this more now than ever. They truly are my best friends…I would rather be with them than anyone else.

This story has been beautifully written by one who authors all of our stories. His masterful hand has orchestrated within us deeper feelings of faith, determination, love, compassion, grace, and a fair amount of humor. There have been moments I have wished this part of my story to be over, however I see them for what they are….and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

