It is all about the journey….

Winds of Change

fall-leavesToday I sat on a bar stool in my kitchen, looking out of the window at the beautiful mountains just east of our home. They are on fire with the beautiful colors of fall. I took a few moments to simply clear my mind of everything that has been crowding it lately and I quietly sat.

As if by a magic that only nature possesses, a gentle breeze came through the yard. As it made its way through, it picked up some of the leaves on the trees and set them free. The effect was beautiful. As the leaves swirled around, my heart-felt a deep peace that it hasn’t felt in months. It was a moment I captured there, because a camera would never do it justice.

I am not really sure how it happens, but the winds of change blow in our lives too. Sometimes they are the strength of a hurricane leaving a path of change and abrupt growth. Other times they are as gentle as this breeze bringing hope and life. I have experienced both and would not change what either brings.

The beauty of hurricane winds in our lives is that we are changed into new creatures. The sheer force and constant beatings strip away that which we do not need. This process of aggressive erosion is painful to a spirit and mind that wants to keep these aspects of who we are. I know I have a Heavenly Father who loves me beyond comprehension. I know He knows who I am meant to be and so He sends these winds to create the growth I need to become. I also know He knows I am strong enough to come through this storm, even when I can’t see this strength in myself.

As the hurricane passes, we come across these beautiful, quiet breezes. They are a gift. The only way we truly appreciate their gentleness is surviving the storm that has shaped us. The peace and hope they bring penetrate our souls and allow us to heal from the inside. The only way we get to experience these moments is when we are quiet in our hearts and minds. It is then that the power of the breeze is manifested.

I see His hand through all of this. I see how He has shaped my heart into new and beautiful forms. I see how my Savior has held my hand and carried me when I couldn’t stand against the winds that were pulling me down. I see how the Rock I have stood on gave me the strength to stand. I see Their love.

Change is inevitable….it is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

