It is all about the journey….

Loaves and Fishes

This morning I was taught by the Spirit. We are in the process of making a major change in our lives. As with any change of this magnitude, there are pros and cons, things that make sense and that don’t.

As I have weighed the pros and cons and looked at everything that makes sense and wondered at what does not, I turned to my Heavenly Father in prayer. I asked for Him to guide my mind so that I can make the right decision, even if it is one that does not make sense to my mortal mind.

Loaves and FishesHe is always so kind and patient in His teachings.

My mind kept wandering down different paths and their perceived outcomes. I began to notice that as it would wander down certain paths…the ones that seemed to make the most logical sense, my mind would darken and I would feel a certain level of anxiety in my heart. I realized that it was His gentle way of showing me what He needs us to do right now.

I have worried about having enough, being able to have the means to live and do what we need to do. It is something that has weighed on my heart for over 3 years. Again, this worry came to the front of my heart.

I was reminded of a story in Matthew chapter 14. It is a time when Jesus is working through the death of John the Baptist, His beloved cousin and friend. The multitudes find Him and want what we all want…time and healing. His compassion is overwhelming to my heart that still struggles with giving when I am hurting. He teaches, heals and loves each one of these people.

At the end of the day, His disciples tell Him to send them away so that they can find food. They scoff a bit when He asks them to feed the multitude. As they share with Him that they have but little, He asks them to bring their bread and fishes to Him.

This is where the story touched my soul today….

Knowing full well that He had the power to multiply these loaves and fishes to feed everyone, He turns to His Father…our Father and thanks Him for the bounty they have.

After this prayer the multitude was fed.

The miracle is what was left over….more than the initial offering made to Heavenly Father.

The gratitude Jesus had for what little they had allowed the miracle to come to pass.

In the quiet moments I have enjoyed today, I have found so much comfort and strength to move forward down the path that does not necessarily make sense to the world. I am so thankful for the little whisperings of the Spirit that teach me to be like my Savior and trust in our Father to provide.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

